School and University Championships 2011

Killorglin Rowing Club athletes and one representative of Muckross represented Intermediate School Killorglin at the Irish Schools Rowing Championships 2011 at the National Rowing Centre, Co. Cork. They became the top school in Ireland winning the Victor Ludorum Trophy – for the Irish Rowing School of the Year for the second time. The entry for School Championships this year was exceptionally high, with 40 Schools affiliating with Rowing Ireland. 

Our fleet of athletes consisted of  15 rowers that competed in following races. The first final of the day was Women’s Open Double(2x) of Aileen Crowley and Maeve McGillycuddy winning it comfortably against Castletroy College Limerick, St Brigids Secondary Schoool and Coilaste Cholim Cork.  Next race for Intermediate School Killorglin was the Women Junior 15 Quad. We had two crews participating in this event and luckily enough they were divided into two separate finals. We won both of them. The first winning crew consisted of Kara O’Connor(Muckross), Zoe Hyde(Killorglin), Emma Murphy(Killorglin),  and Tara Lynch(Killorglin),  coxed by Agnieszka Dukarska (Killorglin), and the winning crew of the second final included  full Killorglin crew of Molly O’Sullivan, Michelle Moriarty, Kerri Fay and Grace Fleming coxed by Katie Fay. The girls won against schools like St. Angels College, Gaelcholaiste Luimnagh or Laurel Hill. There was 10 competitors in this category.

Following previous success the girls from Killorglin Rowing Club raced the Women Junior 16 Eight, leaving no chance to other competitors.  The girls won their final comfortably against two crews from Laurel Hill School. The crews consisted of Molly O’Sullivan, Tara Lynch, Meabh O’Sullivan, Maeve McGillycuddy, Zoe Hyde, Emma Murphy, Clodagh Dermody  and Aoife Ross coxed by Katie Fay- all Killorglin. The girls really stepped up to the mark as most of them are Under14’s and Under 15’s showing a great potential and determination.

Aileen Crowley was racing the Women Open 1x coming 2nd in the Heat and qualifying for the final later on during the day. This race was very competitive and comprised of 11 athletes. In the final of the WO 1x Aileen finished 3rd, getting few point for ISK that were added to overall score.

If that wouldn’t be enough, the Women Junior 16 Quad was also stormed by Intermediate School Killorglin firstly winning both heats and then finishing first and second in the final. The winners of the Final were Meabh O’Sullivan(Killorglin), Maeve McGillycuddy(Killorglin),  Zoe Hyde(Killorglin),  and Kara O’Connor (Muckross) coxed by Katie Fay(Killorglin). The crew coming 2nd  was full Killorglin crew and included Molly O’Sullivan, Tara Lynch, Michelle Moriarty and Clodagh Dermody coxed by Agnieszka Dukarska. It was great to see both crews racing to the line and taking top two places.

 Monika Dukarska also defended her University Senior Single Title. She raced against Trinity University represented by Sarah Dolan from Dublin University Ladies. Monika was winning from the start giving no chance to Trinity rower to get even close to her. She won by 400m.

Also big thank you to all supporters on the day and well done to our coach Mike Fleming.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s