Fermoy & Cork Regattas

An outstanding weekend for Killorglin rowers. Killorglin Rowing Club athletes took part in Cork and Fermoy Regattas held over the weekend. We had a large group of rowers travelling ranging from Seniors to under 14s. The sunny weather made the weekend very enjoyable. We had 4 wins in Cork. The Women’s Junior 14 quad of Molly Sullivan, Michelle Moriarty, Emma Murphy and Kerri Fay coxed by Katie Fay won their final comfortably against Skibbereen, Shandon and Cork crews.  Zoe Hyde won the Women’s Junior 14 Single Scull final with one length lead over Galway sculler. The Women Junior 15 Quad of Michelle Moriarty, Zoe Hyde, Emma Murphy and Kerri Fay coxed by Katie Fay won their race leading from 1000m mark against Cork and Skibbereen crews. Monika Dukarska later on the day raced the Women’s Senior Single Scull. She won her race against Walsh from Old Collegians Boat Club with time of 8min and 26 sec. It was the last Grand League Regatta of the 2011 season.

The Fermoy Sprints were held for the 127th time. We had a total of 8 wins on Sunday. The first win went to the women’s Junior 14 Double Scull of Michelle Moriarty and Molly Sullivan.  Our men’s crew of Darragh Mangan and Kieran O’Sullivan showed outstanding performance winning the Mens Junior 14 Double scull few hours after.  Zoe Hyde swiped the Junior 14 and Junior 15 Single Scull titles. The Womens Junior 14 and 15 Quad were also won by Killorglin. The crew consisted of Michelle Moriarty, Zoe Hyde, Emma Murphy and Molly Sullivan coxed by Kate Fay. The girls had few tight heats to get to the finals fighting hard right to the finishing line. Our Men’s Novice Double scull of Cian and Cathal Clifford won their final with two boat lengths lead over Castleconnel and Cork crews.  Our Junior 14 Mens crew of Darragh Mangan, Kieran O’Sullivan, John Francis O’Grady and Connor Dee were piped on the line finishing 2nd. The boys are gaining valuable racing experience which will stand to them in the future. Monika Dukarska won the Senior Single Scull leading from the start. Monika beat O’Sullivan from University of Limerick and Shinnick from Fermoy RC. Monika Dukarska won the Senior1x three years in a row now.

A big well done to all athletes on their performance.  Also a big thank you to Mike Fleming and Martin Leahy for getting the crews ready for the regatta.

Our next and final race will be in National Rowing Centre, Inniscarra Co. Cork on 14th,15th and 16th of July – The National Irish Championships 2011.


More photos to follow soon.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s