All Ireland Championships 2012

Big congratulations to all Killorglin rowers who were outstanding at the All Ireland Coastal Rowing Championships held in Courtmacsherry in Co. Cork over the weekend. We had two gold and two bronze medals and many crews got into the finals finishing  in top 5 places.

First win of the day went to Under 21 Ladies, the crew of Molly Sullivan, Maeve McGillycuddy, Zoe Hyde and Emma Murphy coxed by Deirdre O’Donoghue. Kerri Fay replaced Molly Sullivan in the Women’s Under 18 crew, securing first place with ease.

Under 14 crew of Kieran O’Sullivan, Fionan O’Sullivan, John Francis O’Grady and Kieran Morris  coxed by Deirdre O’Donoghue secured bronze while Under 12 crew of Shane O’Connor, Sean Houlihan, Conor Murphy and Stephen Poff coxed by Deirdre O’Donoghue, repeated boys performance in style, also getting bronze medal. It was the first All-Ireland Championship for under 12 crew so big congratulations.

Maeve McGillycuddy topped up the medal ranking with a special award that she received on the day. Maeve got  the “Most Outstanding Oarsperson” at the All Ireland Champiosnhips 2012 award. Big well done to Maeve.

More detailed report and photos to follow soon.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s