2017 Irish Offshore Rowing Championships

Killorglin Rowing Club athletes participated in the National Offshore Rowing Championships in Arklow on Saturday, the 9th of September. The race took place over 4 kilometres on an open sea and included 7 turns.

Well done to our medal winners; these are:

Champion in the Women’s Single and reigning World Champion – Monika Dukarska

Bronze medal in the Women’s Single – Jessica Lee

Bronze medal in the Women’s Quad – Mara Treacy, Rhiannon O’Donoghue, Anna Tyther, Eimear O’Donovan and Deirdre Leahy.

Also, well done to our Men’s Double of Sean Houlihan and Michael Sheehan who finished 5th, Celine Kavanagh in the Women’s Single – 6th and James McCarthy in the Men’s Single – 7th overall. Well done to all on their great performances, for majority of the rowers this was their first ever Offshore Rowing competition!

Big thanks to Arklow Rowing Club for hosting such a successful event.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s